Inspiration – South Park

When thinking about the aesthetic of my inspiration it was helpful to look at television based animations like South Park.
The 2D style of this South Park lends itself to be recreated in Illustrator, this is where my main skills lie and so how I will be drawing my animation. Therefore, I would like to take some inspiration regarding how South Park makes the animation still engaging despite having a simple design.

I also like the vibrant colours that are used in South Park, I think using bright colours in my own animation will prevent it from becoming a sci-fi style animation. The ‘digital’ aesthetic lends itself to dark colours and doesn’t really suggest bright and vibrant colours. Therefore, I think it will be important to include these bright colours in the animation.

The characters have a very distinct aesthetic, all of them fit together in one style. I now realise that I need to ensure all of my characters have similar expressions and styles of drawing, otherwise they could end up looking very disjointed and confusing. I think having a consistent theme between characters and backgrounds etc. will produce an animation that has an overall aesthetic style which is recognisable to an audience.

Leave a comment