Inspiration – Family Guy

Another television animation that I have considered as inspiration is Family Guy, it has a similar 2D style to South Park. However, it does have a more realistic feel, the characters have fairly realistic bodies and features. I think this is closer to the style I want to go for than South Park. I like the way that real environments such as the living room are drawn in a simplified way. It is still obvious what the room is but it doesn’t take attention away from the characters. This is something I would like to try and recreate in my project.

In a similar way to South Park, Family Guy also uses bright colours, perhaps not quite as bright as South Park. I think this colour palette would suit the ‘home’ sections of my animation. All of the characters again have a very distinct style that brings them together as one, this again makes it clear that I need to have a distinct style for my own animation.

Leave a comment